Art by Rob Goldstein

I worked full time in December of 2008.

I was the clinical director of a mental health program.

The agency was short-staffed and the patients came to us in need of much, much more than we had.

I worked 16 hour shifts and was always on call.

I felt beaten and began to feel as if I had aged down; as if I had become younger and less able.

I didn’t know that my behavior had changed until one of the nurses who worked at my program told me that I, ‘No longer passed.”

I asked her what she meant and she explained that she meant my behavior.

That somehow my behavior implied that I thought I was 20 years younger and passed as such.

While it may sound like a nasty thing to say; in retrospect, my behavior must have been very disturbing for it to have prompted that…

View original post 456 more words