Art by Rob Goldstein

Strange Dream #3

White blood cells die in a viral massacre.

I act as referee and check sedimentation.

Someone plays the piano.

He’s another me; smelled but rarely seen.

“How long have you been like this?” asked the once concerned professional.

“Since I was an old woman,” I reply.

GREETINGS THRILL SEEKERS! BOY HAVE WE GOT A SURPRISE FOR YOU! SEND PRIVATE INFO AND DON’T FORGET YOUR ZIP CODE!

94117…I send an email and do a dozen sit-ups.

I like perfection and I know that I am.

The hair on my legs is perfect, just as Walt Whitman says it is.

I invite the pianist to rub his face across the stubble.

“I’ve never had sex with a feminist,” he says. “Who’s the top and who’s the bottom?”

“Let’s do it sideways,” I reply. “That way we’re equal.”

RG 2015

View original post

