An Update About My TMS Consultation

Last Friday, the 13th, I wrote about exploring the area of TMS – Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation – as a therapy (wish I could type “solution” there) for my depression…my mind that won’t light up.

This past Tuesday I had my consultation and while I am a candidate for the treatment (sirrrrrPRISE, SIIIIIIIRprise) my first important piece of information is that the therapy isn’t covered by my insurance. In fact, the regional manager told me, my insurance was the only one that didn’t cover it. He went on to explain that my insurance currently has a lawsuit against them for not covering the program.

Out of pocket the program will cost $7800.00. Ain’t nobody got pockets that deep, yo! But even then, I would totally go on a payment plan, it’s just these other payment plans I’m on are going to prevent that.

The good news is that there is still a chance my insurance may change its mind when the policy is reviewed at the end of this month.

I’ll keep praying.


If you’re brain won’t light up and you are interested in more information. I’ve included some links here. You can also peruse “TMS” on YouTube.

Links for further reading:

TMS Neurohealth Centers

http://tmsneuro.com/help-beat-depression-with-tms-therapy-treatment/?gclid=CM725YOd58wCFQWUfgodsSwJ8g

The Mayo Clinic

http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/transcranial-magnetic-stimulation/home/ovc-20163795

Neurostar TMS Therapy

https://neurostar.com/neurostar-tms-depression-treatment/

One comment

Go ahead! You know you want to say it :-)

