Art by Rob Goldstein

An Apology

My alternates write and post while I think I’m asleep.

This still causes a sense of remorse and shame.
I try to comfort myself by saying, most people don’t care.

But I care.

Why?
Fear.
Of what?
Fear of bigots who do cruel things to people with mental illnesses
and justify their cruelty with cheap platitudes.

They’re everywhere including the Behavioral Health System at Kaiser.

One of my alternates responds to the implied blame in certain
platitudes with rage:
“This hurts me more than it does you”
“If they stayed in their place this wouldn’t happen.”
“People should be with their own kind.

“If you tried harder you could work!”

“All you have to do is change how you think!”

The corpses of people tortured into their graves while
their tormentors shamed them with cheap platitudes
litter the World’s graveyards.
Arbeit macht frei
“Work Makes Free” was the wisdom…

View original post 403 more words

