Featured Blogger: Ned Hickson

Art by Rob Goldstein

I’m happy to say that my first featured blogger for the month of September 2016 is author, humorist, blogger, and volunteer firefighter, Ned Hickson:

Art by Rob Goldstein Ned Hickson

Before we get started, I just want to say how much I appreciate the invitation to be here, and for not having any questions about what kind of salad dressing I’d be. Although, if I’m being honest, it would be bacon-flavored Ranch because I love bacon. Plus, you wouldn’t have to shake me every time you put me on your salad. I get dizzy easily.

A little about my personal history: I need to preface this by saying my beginnings don’t appear to lend themselves to life as a humorist. At least, not on the surface. I spent my early childhood in one of the many small communities that skirt Los Angeles. Most of my friends were Hispanic, several of who got into gangs…

View original post 1,149 more words

Go ahead! You know you want to say it :-)

