The Good Samaritan

This post officially begins a new category on the right side of my wall – Life. It is an area I want to open up in more to my readers. It’s not that exciting, but I’m hoping you enjoy the ride. Thank you for both your followership and your comments. I am honored to have you join me.


This past weekend I was in a bit of a pickle. On the way to my girlfriend’s house I felt my power steering go out. As I battled the steering wheel around the last two corners to her house all I could think of with this car was, “What now?!”. And I knew it wouldn’t be as simple as the power steering fluid leaking.

When I pulled to a stop in front of her house I popped the hood and braced myself before looking inside.

Okay, no parts missing. Not any big ones anyways. And nothing sprayed me in the face as if one of the many-tentacled hoses might have done if they had been compromised.

Then I started pulling on things and prodding like my ex-wife used to do when I told her something hurt. That’s when I noticed the serpentine belt – that really long one that goes around all the pulleys on the engine and basically makes a lot of parts work – was slack. I pulled on it and the whole thing came off!

When I was able to look closer, I noticed the tensioner pulley was busted and that was the reason for the belt coming off (see image below). I think the bearing froze and the whole thing just burned itself to a melted mess.

wp-1479925529082.jpg

When it was finally decided what the issue was, my girlfriend went across the street to her neighbor, Daryl, and asked if he would be able to help me.

He didn’t know me.

And I didn’t know him.

He said he would help and that he would be outside in a few minutes.

A little over an hour later, and after making a couple trips to Advance Auto Parts, the Blue Beast was back in working order and safely drivable.

I thanked Daryl sincerely for his time and for helping me on such a cold and windy day and handed him $50.00 as a thank you.

I didn’t have $50.00 to give away.

I also didn’t have a couple hundred dollars to give to a mechanic either. I wish I would have because Daryl really helped me out.

I knew I would have to coax him to take the money.

But I’m glad he did.

Thank you for helping me, Daryl.

I learned some things from you that day.

And it wasn’t all about cars.

Go ahead! You know you want to say it :-)

