Art by Rob Goldstein

Bourbon Street Bourbon Street

12/28

We passed through the French Market and paused to hear a street band.

Miguel stopped and bought a praline.

He broke off a piece and gave it to me. 

We resumed our walk.

We reached the corner of St. Peter and Bourbon.

The stop sign bore two stickers.

One read FAG and the other read DYKE.

Miguel turned to me: “So you’re a homosexual.”

“Sometimes.”

“Why didn’t you tell me?”

“Maybe I thought I could seduce you.”

Miguel laughed: “Maybe you did! But I’m much too fond of the ladies!”

My Walk With Miguel My Walk With Miguel

12/28 9PM

Was that Miguel’s hand on the small of my back, guiding me through the crowd on Bourbon Street?

I looked up at him and smiled. We stopped to watch a street mime. I reached into my pocket to fetch a cigarette, Miguel lit it, and I took a puff and smiled.

View original post 236 more words