the curse of the self-defeating prophet

survivor road

for as long as i can remember, i have self-sabotaged.  start a project and make it fail.  or just fail to finish.  anything that can prove my lack of worth.

it cropped up a few months ago on booksie.com; a site for aspiring authors.  members there share their work and comment/critique each other’s work.  i had a few finished books, several poems, and was getting nice reviews.  too nice.  i couldn’t handle it so i pulled all my files and left the site.

my latest observation is here – my blog.

ever since being asked to share my posts on another website i have suffered from an ever-decreasing motivation to write.  what possible value could anything i write have for anyone?  there is no way i can say anything that will help anyone else.  after all, i can’t even help myself.

so if you’re one of the people who have…

View original post 155 more words

2 comments

  1. Marcus,
    The past 2 days I felt like giving up myself. But decided to show demons what determination looked like. Ok I was to down to be fierce in the weight room, but damn it I was there! You inspired me to share my post here.
    Bravo for sticking in! Write like no one is watching!

    Like

    • Thanks for the reach-out. It’s good to hear confirmation, even when I don’t always believe it.
      And congratulations for pushing down your own demons! Stay with it. No one can be you better than you.

      Liked by 1 person

Go ahead! You know you want to say it :-)

