A Flight of Ideas: Secret Obscenities

Robert, let the toxic voices go. You are Strong and have managed your life to date. Pills do not cover grieving, that we have to do ourselves in our own timeframe. Hugs. M

Art by Rob Goldstein

Life cried and sent me into crisis.

An arm around my shoulder, the doctor gave counsel:

He says, if I take my pills, I will forget my grief, I will be happy.

He says, the Lord is in my heart, if I search it, I’ll find him, and he’ll save me.

He says, if I climb the right steps, I’ll be normal, if I talk about it: this thing I can’t mention.

My lies are those of one who doesn’t trust, and so I fear
that unless the lying stops, I will —

become the prank who attends his own funeral, mingling
with the mourners, and whispering secret obscenities.

(c)text Rob Goldstein 1984, image Rob Goldstein 1917

View original post

Go ahead! You know you want to say it :-)

