Recently, I was being interviewed (evaluated really), and after sharing a little bit of the belief system I was exposed to during some of my formative years, the evaluator asked,”were your parents hippies?”

Well, I never much thought they were.  My mom says that if she was a hippie, I am a bigger one.  My dad went to work in a suit and tie everyday.  I remember mom’s hair held in place with perfecting hair spray.  We did have a Volkswagen Beetle.


During my teen years, I owned a VW bus for a short time.  I discovered I was more of an automatic transmission type of person.


I was known to wear my share of flower chains.



I probably do have some hippie ideals engrained in me…it was the times.


I have had one parent share with me that her child’s impression of me was that I was a “real hippie”.  I’m not sure I see myself as 100% hippie, but it is definitely there.

 Do you consider yourself a hippie?  Is there another label of an era, that you put on yourself?

~AoA

