Art by Rob Goldstein


  1. Fear of the elderly.
  2. Fear of aging.

In the United States, we define “old” in a number of ways.

  1. Age 40 is the age at and beyond which a person may not be discriminated against in employment. (Age Discrimination in Employment Act–ADEA)
  2. Age 55 is the age at which low-income people might qualify for subsidized employment and learn new work skills. (Title V of the Older Americans Act)

  3. Age 60 is the age of eligibility for Older Americans Act services. Due to limited funding, however, services tend to be targeted to those aged who are most needy. (Older Americans Act of 1965)

  4. Age 62 is the age at which persons can take “early retirement.” (The Social Security Act)

  5. Age 65 has been the “traditional” age for full retirement. However, because of longer life  expectancy, the full retirement age is increasing for…

View original post 744 more words

Please leave a comment what, you have to say is important to us.

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s